One Book Two Book’s Write Out Loud event to premiere at 1 p.m., Feb. 28

The Write Out Loud celebration of student writing, held virtually this year, will premiere on YouTube at 1 p.m. CST on Sunday, Feb. 28. The celebration is the highlight of this year’s annual One Book Two Book Children’s Literature Festival. Watch the presentation here.

The video features the grade-level winners in the One Book Two Book writing competition. Students in Corridor districts were encouraged to submit one page of original writing. Those submissions were evaluated by a team at ACT in Iowa City. In each grade, first through eighth, winners were selected in two categories. They are:

• The Write Stuff, which is judged based on language, clarity, structure, and emotional impact.
• From the Heart, judged based on creativity, passion, and expressiveness.

The students who will read are:

First Grade: Dustin Nguyen, Borlaug Elementary – The Write Stuff; Lake Spak, Mann Elementary – From the Heart.

Second Grade: Sophia Nguyen, Borlaug Elementary – The Write Stuff; Anjana Mathews, Wickham Elementary – From the Heart

Third Grade: Abigail Chen, Wickham Elementary – The Write Stuff; Lyan Hussein, Coralville Central Elementary – From the Heart

Fourth Grade: Olivia Rantanen, Willowwind School – The Write Stuff; Ezra O’Connor, Lemme Elementary – From the Heart

Fifth Grade: Mirka Punekar, Coralville Central Elementary – The Write Stuff; Maggie Nguyen, Borlaug Elementary – From the Heart

Sixth Grade: Leon Xie, Wickham Elementary – The Write Stuff; Adelaide Capps, Mann Elementary – From the Heart

Seventh Grade: Maxwell Brown, South East Junior High – The Write Stuff; Sienna Brown, South East Junior High – From the Heart

Eighth Grade: Luis Holanda Solano, Scattergood Friends – The Write Stuff; Claire Franzwa, North Central Junior High – From the Heart

In addition, honorable mention students were selected, and will be recognized as part of the program:

Second graders Nate Cwiertny , Weber Elementary; and Inaaya Ali,Wickham Elementary
Third grader Amara Pfeifer, Wickham Elementary.
Fourth grader Cora Beland, Coralville Central Elementary.
Fifth grader Anaya Patill, Penn Elementary.
Sixth graders Hattie Galloway, Hoover Elementary; and Ben Haines, Lincoln Elementary.
Seventh grader Katelyn Wu, Clear Creek Amana Middle School.
Eighth grader Anora Klauke, South East Junior High.

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.