Board of Directors

Mission statement: The City of Literature works to advance its mission of celebrating and supporting literature on a local, regional, national, and international level, connecting readers and writers through the power of story.

President, Jennie Garner – North Liberty Community Library
Vice President, Mary Ellen Lewis – Private attorney
Secretary, Elizabeth Schott  – Community Volunteer
Treasurer, Linda Farkas – Community volunteer
Past President, Alison Ames Galstad – Coralville Public Library
Aron Aji – University of Iowa
Anna Barker – University of Iowa
Laura Bergus – City Council of Iowa City
Venise Berry – University of Iowa
Elsworth Carman – Iowa City Public Library
Maeve Clark – Community volunteer
John Culshaw – University of Iowa Libraries
Kelly Hayworth – City of Coralville
Nick Kaeding – Think Iowa City
Ashley Monroe – City of Iowa City
Caleb Rainey – Poet and Teacher
Janelle Rettig – Johnson County Board of Supervisors
Steve Semken – Ice Cube Press
Jesse Singerman – Prairie Ventures LLC
Rachel Yoder – draft: The Journal of Process