International Youth Day

August 12 is the U.N. designated international youth day! This year’s theme is transforming education in alignment with goal number 4 of the U.N. Sustainable Development Goals. To celebrate here at the Iowa City of Literature, we put together a list of children/adolescent books written by just a few of the Iowa authors we’ve worked with in the past! 

Finding Fortune by Delia Ray

In this alluring mystery, twelve year old Ren runs away from home in search of a ghost town on the  Mississippi river ironically misnamed “Fortune.” When Ren does find this the sleepy, seemingly forgotten town she stumbles upon many unique characters who string together a mystery that is beckoning to be solved. Iowa City author Delia Ray incorporates tidbits of forgotten history in the story giving the novel a perfect blend of information and story-telling for middle school readers. 

Creekfinding: A True Story by Jacqueline Briggs Martin 

Illustrated by Claudia McGehee

This picture book tells the inspiring story of how a “lost” creek in Northeastern Iowa was restored after being covered up by cornfields for years. Illustrated by Iowa City resident Claudia McGehee, the pictures in this book not only beautifully portray the revival of the creek, but also emphasizes the nature and life that was recovered in restoring the entire ecosystem. In other words, McGehee’s illustrations bring to life the life that was brought back into the creek! 

The White House for Kids by Katherine L. House

This interactive history book for children not only gives the history of America’s most famous residence, but also tells anecdotes and fun facts that most don’t know, such as how Susan Ford once held her prom in the East Room. This book also includes 21 presidential themed activities such as how to sign your name like the president or instructions for “Hooverball” a game named after President Herbert Hoover. This book was written by Katherine L. House, a nonfiction children’s book author and Iowa City resident.  

Magic Thief Series by Sarah Prineas

This four book series is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan. Connwaer is taken on as an apprentice by Nevery, a mysterious wizard. In a city of dwindling magic, Conn must use his streetsmarts from his previous life of being a common thief to find the cause of the diminishing magic. The answer may be something ferociously evil. From sneaking out of prison, to accidentally blowing up his house practicing magic, Conn’s magical abilities are tried again and again as he desperately tries to save the city he calls home. 

A Hat for Mrs. Goldman by Michelle Edwards

Illustrated by G. Brian Karas

Mrs. Goldman knits hats for everyone in the neighborhood, and young Sophia helps by making decorative pom-poms. As winter approaches, Sophia notices that Mrs. Goldman herself doesn’t have a hat for winter, and doesn’t have the time to knit herself one. Sophia decides to take matters into her own hands and teach herself to knit Mrs. Goldman a hat. With lots of determination and frustration, Sophia knits Mrs. Goldman a very awkwardly shaped hat with many holes. Feeling defeated, Sophia is unsure if she can even give the hat to Mrs. Goldman until she comes up with a solution. Completel with 20 pom-poms, Sophia gifts the hat to Mrs Goldman. Perfect for ages 4-8, this book will teach a thing or two about giving and remembering that it’s the thought that counts. 

Gondra’s Treasure by Linda Sue Park

Illustrated by Jennifer Black Reinhardt

Gondra, a young dragon born from an Asian dad and a European mom loves the traits she inherited from both her dragon parents. Gondra’s true treasure is her diverse cultural background in the make-believe world of dragons and she is appreciative of her differences and similarities to both heritages. Illustrated by Iowa City resident Jennifer Black Reinhardt, the illustrations create a friendly family portrait and invites the reader to celebrate diversity in their own lives. 

 

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

One Response to “International Youth Day”

  1. website says:

    I don’t know whether it’s just me oor if everyone else experiencing issues with your site.
    It appears as if some of the written text oon your posts are runnong off
    the screen. Can somerone else please provide feedback and let mme know if this is happening to them too?
    This could be a problem with myy web browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Many thanks

Leave a Reply