Announcing the 2014 City of Literature Paul Engle Prize

The Iowa City UNESCO City of Literature organization is now accepting nominations for its annual Paul Engle Prize. This award honors an individual who, like Paul Engle, represents a pioneering spirit in the world of literature through writing, editing, publishing, or teaching, and whose active participation in the larger issues of the day has contributed to the betterment of the world through the literary arts. The prize is sponsored by the City of Coralville.

Paul Engle (October 12, 1908 – March 22, 1991), though best remembered as the long-time director of the University of Iowa Writers’ Workshop and founder of the UI’s International Writing Program, also was a well-regarded poet, playwright, essayist, editor and critic.

The award seeks to recognize a writer, like Engle, who makes an impact on his or her community and the world at large through efforts beyond the page. It also seeks to raise awareness about Engle and his works.

Past recipients are James Alan McPherson, a longtime instructor at the University of Iowa Writer’s Workshop and the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Elbow Room; and Kwame Dawes, Chancellor Professor of English at the University of Nebraska, and Glenna Luschel Editor of Prairie Schooner.

The prize will be awarded on Oct. 4 as part of the 2014 Iowa City Book Festival. The recipient will be presented a specially designed plaque and a check for $10,000, and will be featured in a special edition of the City of Literature’s “On the Fly: Writers on Writing” video interview series. The award will be announced on the City of Literature’s web site and through other communication channels.

To nominate a writer for this award, please submit a nomination form, a resume or CV (including a list of published works) and endorsements or letters of support from those who can attest to the nominee’s qualifications for the award. Note: the prize winner must be available for the October 4 presentation in Iowa City.

Nominations are due by July 1. They will be reviewed by a pre-selected panel, and the winner will be announced by August 15.

Click here to download a nomination form.

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.